Young Sierrans – Dallas Sierra Club

young professionals section of the dallas sierra club

Dallas – A “Bike Friendly” Town?

Posted by youngsierrans on February 4, 2010

Over the last year I’ve become aware of a handful of local, neighborhood-driven bike advocacy groups around our city.  These organizations mobilize grassroots support in making the Dallas area more bike-friendly by establishing discounts with local merchants, working with city council-folk to create cycle tracks on major thoroughfares (a first in Dallas), and hosting event-themed, recreational rides around town.

These groups must be having an effect – Dallas is creating a Bicycle Transportation Advisory Committee and is currently seeking applications.  The committee is going to be a 15-person board and will help in developing Dallas’ future comprehensive bicycle plan (meeting monthly).  Please email your applications to Max Kalhammer (Sr. Planner – Bicycle Coordinator), by Feb 15th, with the subject line “BAC Application.”

So dust off that ol’ Schwinn Stingray and get out to support these important local groups!  If one doesn’t exist in your neighborhood, contact any of the below “friendly” organizers to learn what steps you can take to start one around your community.  Happy Riding!

Bike Friendly Oak Cliff
Bike Friendly Knox-Henderson
Bike Friendly North Dallas
Bike Friendly Richardson
Bike Friendly Arlington
Bike Friendly Fort Worth
Bike Denton
Biking In Dallas
PEDALLAS

4 Responses to “Dallas – A “Bike Friendly” Town?”

  1. Ron said

    I’ve been following and these Bike Friendly organizations and going on their rides for a time. Their rapid rise in popularity, if that is the right word, has been amazing. I have been spreading the word myself. The events are low key and fun, and Bike Friendly Oak Cliff has had an impact towards improving cycling in the Dallas Area. This should continue.

    It’s right to include them in an environmental newsletter, as cycling can have a impact towards reducing auto driving and it’s effects. The Complete Streets Initiate that you hear about is more than bike lanes. It also promotes pedestrian and mass transit. It was started when people expressed a desire to be able to simply cross the road they live on in safely. So it is, in part, a neighborhood environmental movement.

    Try one of the rides. You will be hooked too.

  2. Steve A said

    Myself, I’m a little more sceptical. The “bike friendly” stuff was interesting, but no more than such when it was in Dallas County. I get concerned when I see “Bike Friendly FW.” Right now I ride my bike anywhere I darn well choose and to hell with anyone that thinks otherwise. I do NOT want to see that freedom abridged.

    At this point in time, the FW Bike Plan elements that affect me are ALL negative. They make that part of the city MORE car-centric. Y’all have any doubts, contact me and we’ll ride those routes togther…

  3. Amanda S said

    I don’t know about you, but I would love to see a more bike-friendly DFW area. But have you ridden your bike out on these streets? They’re downright scary. More access, better awareness and less traffic would be best. Every time I ride on a public street, I actually feel unsafe, no matter how many cars. I watch out for bikers when in my car, I expect the same from others. But this town- and I live in North Irving, which contributes to the problem–has the capacity, we just need to get the word out. I hope the planning is productive. I certainly will do my part.

  4. Steve A said

    I rode over 6000 miles last year, almost entirely on DFW streets. Including Irving. Downtown Dallas. Downtown FW. Big roads and little roads. Daylight and dark.

    Remember how you were afraid of drowning before you learned how to swim and then the fear went away after you learned? It’s the same riding bikes around traffic in DFW. I find driving around here MUCH scarier.

    Regardless of what one feels about various sorts of bike facilities and groups, the simple fact remains that if you are unable to safely and comfortably ride on the street with cars, you won’t be able to use a bike as serious transportation because those things will mostly never go where you want to go unless you’re just “driving your bike to ride” or a group “just happens to be going there.” Learning to ride in traffic is not hard, and it doesn’t take long to learn. Once I determined to do it, it took less than a day. Isn’t KNOWING you’re safe worth less than a day?

Leave a Reply

 
